Iron and steel grains

Blast grain from cast iron can be used for roughening up, descaling, derusting and clearing away surfaces. Sharp-edged blast grain from recompensed high coal steel has long service life and high breaking strength. Steelgrit is used for cleaning with excellent surface finish, for pretreatment before enamelling, painting and coating. Steelgrit is angular steel abrasive made by crushing hard steel shot and grading by sieving.

Steel shot is made from high carbon steel which is tempered to give durability and resistance to fracture, used both for peening and cleaning. Steel shot are derived from casting molten metal in a water tank. The ball-shaped grains are then graded by sieving. Shot peening is cold treatment of machined parts surface. Peening increases material fatique resistance and initiates internal strain relief. Steel grain possesses the necessary hardness for the best cleaning effect and maintains its round shape in the peening machine work mixture. Typical applications include metal improvement, stress relief, removal of heat treatment residue, mill scale, rust and paint and sand from castings.

Steel grit tends to clean a little quicker than shot but breaks down at a faster rate. It is essential that media is kept in a moisture free environment, otherwise it may solidify. Due to the risk of ferrous oxide contamination, steel shot or grits are not suited to certain applications. Surface corrosion may occur after treatment, therefore immediate coating or temporary protection is essential.

Chilled iron grit is a white iron structure which shatters on impact rather than wearing round. Being harder than steel it has a quicker cleaning action but faster breakdown rate. The grits are frequently used to etch structural steel and components prior to coating with paint, metal spray or plastics. Usage of chilled cast iron poses the same storage problems of oxidisation as other steel abrasives.

>> Additional information
>> Laws, regulations, standards
>> Prevention, SDS, columnmodel, etc.
>> Producers, suppliers
>> Optimisation potential
>> References
List of all database-processes with this type of agent

Eisen- und Stahlkörner

Körner aus Gusseisen können zum Aufrauen, Entzundern, Entrosten sowie zum generellen Reinigen von Oberflächen verwendet werden. Scharfkantige Strahlmittel aus Kohlenstoffstahl haben eine hohe Festigkeit und Standzeit. Stahlschrot wird für das Reinigen mit exzellentem Finish, zur Vorbehandlung vor dem Emaillieren, zum Streichen und Beschichten eingesetzt. Es ist ein kantiges abrasives Materia, welches durch das Zermalen von harten Stahlkörnern hergestellt und nach Größe durch Sieben sortiert wird.

Stahlschrot wird aus Stahl mit hohem Kohlenstoffgehalt hergestellt, der angelassen wird, um Haltbarkeit und Bruchfestigkeit zu erhöhen. Das geschmolzene Metall wird in einen Wassertank gegossen. Die sich bildenden Kügelchen werden nach Größe gesiebt. „Shot peening“ bezeichnet die Oberflächenverfestigung durch Strahlen mit Stahlschrot. Der Ermüdungswiderstand des Materials wird erhöht und interne Spannungen werden abgebaut. Dieses Strahlmittel besitzt die notwendige Härte für gute Reinigungsleistung und behält seine runde Form in der Strahlanlage. Typische Anwendungen sind Oberflächenverdichtung, Spannungsabbau, Entfernung von Wärmebehandlungsrückständen, Zunder, Rost, Farbe und Giesssand.

Stahlkörner reinigen etwas schneller als Schrot, haben aber einere kürzere Standzeit. Außerdem müssen sie trocken gehalten werden, da sie sonst zusammenbacken. Wegen des Risikos eines Eisenoxideintrags eignen sich Stahlschrot oder Stahlkörner nicht für bestimmte Anwendungen, in denen die Gefahr eines Rostbefalls besteht. Eine schnelle Beschichtung oder ein Korrosionsschutz sind sehr wichtig.

„Chilled Iron Grit“ besteht aus weißem Gusseisen, das beim Auftreffen eher zerbricht als abrundet. Da es härter als Stahl ist reinigt es schneller, es hat aber eine kürzere Standzeit. Der Kies wird häufig benutzt, um Stahlkonstruktionen und -komponenten vor der Farb-, Metall- oder Kunststoffbeschichtung aufzurauen. Auch hier ist bei der Lagerung wegen der Rostgefahr auf Trockenheit zu achten.

>> Ergänzende Information
>> Gesetze, Vorschriften, Normen
>> Prävention, SDB, Spaltenmodell, etc.
>> Hersteller, Lieferanten
>> Verbesserungspotential
>> Referenzen
Zur Liste aller Datenbank-Prozesse mit diesem Verfahrenstyp